How to send “View Once” messages on WhatsApp? Step by step guide
Over the past few years, the trend of sending disappearing messages has taken over social media platforms and instant messaging apps. As a reminder, Snapchat was the first platform to pioneer the concept of disappearing messages. While messages and media files remain in the chat history on most platforms, Snapchat came up with the concept of photos, videos, or messages disappearing once a user receives them. Now other platforms like Facebook, Instagram and WhatsApp also have similar functionality. On Instagram it’s called Vanish mode and on WhatsApp it’s called “View Once”. For the purposes of this explainer, we will talk about the WhatsApp View Once feature and how it works.
What is WhatsApp’s “Show Once” feature?
As mentioned earlier, WhatsApp View Once is a version of disappearing messages. As the name suggests, when the View Once feature is enabled by the sender, the content of a message is only accessible once. For example, if A sends a video to B and enables the View once setting for the video, B will only be able to watch the video once. As soon as B watches the video, it can no longer be viewed. Likewise, the sender will no longer be able to review the media file. Also, the video appears on a different card than regular media files. One thing to keep in mind is that users can only send images and videos using the View Once feature. The feature is available for Android and iOS users.
How do I use WhatsApp’s “Show Once” feature?
- Open WhatsApp and head to the chat where the message should be sent.
- Click on an image or record a video using the camera icon or select one from the gallery.
- On the screen that appears just before sending the image/video, tap the watch icon with the number “1” on it (bottom right corner).
- It will turn green, indicating that the image/video will only be available once.
- Tap the green arrow in the lower right corner to send the image/video.
Things to keep in mind when using the “Show once” function
Now, even if the photo or video sent by a user can only be viewed once, the recipient can take screenshots or save the screen to make a copy. Therefore, WhatsApp recommends users to use View Once feature only with people they trust. Unlike Snapchat, the sender isn’t notified if the other person in the chat takes a screenshot. Also, verify that the image/video before sending cannot be deleted later.